Plenary Speakers

The contributions from young researchers will be supplemented by plenary lectures from senior scientist from academia and industry as well as from the GACM Best PhD Award winner 2022. We are very happy to announce the following speakers.


Prof. Liesbet Geris (University of Liège and KU Leuven)

Liesbet Geris is professor in Biomechanics and Computational Tissue Engineering at the University of Liège and KU Leuven in Belgium.  Her research focusses on the multi-scale and multi-physics modeling of skeletal tissue engineering processes. Liesbet is scientific coordinator of Prometheus, a musculoskeletal Tissue Engineering platform. She has received an ERC starting grant and 2 ERC consolidator grants to finance her research and has received a number of young investigator and research awards. She is the current executive director of the Virtual Physiological Human Institute, advocating the use of in silico modeling in healthcare through liaising with the clinical community, European Commission and Parliament, regulatory agencies and patients.

Lecture title: In vitro, in vivo, in silico: use of computer modeling and simulation in skeletal pathologies and treatment

Dr. Dirk Hartmann (Siemens Digital Industries Software)

Dirk Hartmann is an industrial mathematician, Siemens Technical Fellow, and intrapreneur in the field of Simulation and Digital Twin. Among many distinctions, he received the prestigious Werner-von-Siemens Top Innovator award 2019 and the Siemens Inventor of the Year 2021 award. After graduations in mathematics and physics at the universities of Cambridge and Heidelberg, a PhD and PostDoc in mathematics, he joined Siemens in 2009. In his career, he took several leading roles in research, innovation, and development at Siemens. Currently, Dirk Hartmann is heading the Technology Innovation department of Siemens’ Simulation and Test Solutions. His research interest focus mostly around scientific machine learning as well as model order reduction and efficient computational solvers.

Lecture title: Executable Digital Twins - Integrating the digital and real world

Prof. Jelena Ninic (University of Birmingham)

Dr Jelena Ninic is an Associate Professor in Digital Engineering in the School of Engineering at the University of Birmingham, UK from 2022. She obtained her PhD degree in 2015 in the field of numerical modelling of mechanised tunnelling at the Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany. In 2016 she obtained Marie Curie individual fellowship SATBIM at the University of Nottingham, where she was later appointed as Assistant Professor in Structural Engineering and Informatics in 2018. Her current research focus is on the development and implementation of computational methods and tools to combine advanced numerical methods with novel information technologies to study structural and geotechnical problems.

Lecture title: Application of machine learning and computer vision for decision making support during the infrastructure lifecycle

Prof. Alexander Popp (UniBW München)

Since 2018 Alexander Popp is Full Professor of Computer-Based Simulation at the University of the Bundeswehr Munich (UniBw M) and Founding Director of the Institute for Mathematics and Computer-Based Simulation (IMCS). He received a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the Technical University of Munich (TUM) in 2012 for his work on computational contact mechanics and mortar methods. Alexander’s research covers a broad range of topics in computational mechanics with a focus on finite element formulations for nonlinear solid mechanics, coupled interface and multi-physics problems, high-performance computing (HPC), digital twin technology and physics-informed machine learning. Alexander has received several prestigious research fellowships and awards including the ECCOMAS O.C. Zienkiewicz Award for Young Scientists in Computational Engineering Sciences.

Lecture title: Scalability of Nonlinear Problems in Contact Mechanics and Mixed-Dimensional Coupling - From Computational Strategies to Multigrid Solvers

Prof. Sebastian Schöps (TU Darmstadt)

Sebastian Schöps received the M.Sc. degree in business mathematics in 2008 and the joint Ph.D. degree in mathematics and physics from the University of Wuppertal and the Catholic University of Leuven in 2011. In 2012, he was appointed as an assistant professor at the Technical University of Darmstadt within the interdisciplinary centre for computational engineering. Since 2018, he has been holding the chair of computational electromagnetics at TU Darmstadt. His current research interests include coupled multiphysical problems, bridging computational design and simulation, parallel algorithms for supercomputing, digital twins, uncertainty quantification, and scientific machine learning.

Lecture title: Isogeometric Mortar Methods for Electromagnetism

GACM Best PhD Award Winner 2022

Dr. Ivo Steinbrecher

Ivo Steinbrecher holds a Bachelor's and a Master's degree in mechanical engineering from the Vienna University of Technology (TU Wien). He pursued his PhD studies in the field of computational mechanics at the Institute for Mathematics and Computer-Based Simulation (IMCS, Prof. Alexander Popp) at the University of the Bundeswehr Munich (UniBw M) and graduated in 2022. His dissertation entitled „Mixed-dimensional finite element formulations for beam-to-solid interaction“ was awarded the "Best  PhD Award 2022" by GACM. Currently, he is a Postdoc in the group of Prof. Alexander Popp where his research focuses on the application of beam-to-solid interactions in biomechanics and civil engineering.

Lecture title: Mixed-dimensional finite element formulations for beam-to-solid interaction